Confirmed Speakers:

  • Ian Bogost, Ivan Allen College Distinguished Chair in Media Studies and Professor of Interactive Computing
  • James Cuno, President and CEO, The J. Paul Getty Trust
  • Jeremy Dean, Director of Education at
  • Aaron Jaffe, Professor of English and Director of the Commonwealth Center for the Humanities and Society, University of Louisville
  • Kathleen Fitzpatrick, Director of Scholarly Communication, MLA,  Visiting Professor of English, New York University, and MediaCommons Co-founder
  • Tara McPherson, Associate Professor of Critical Studies, University of Southern California, School of Cinematic Arts
  • Kahlil Gibran Muhammad, Director, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL
  • Christopher M. Kelty, Associate Professor, Institute for Society and Genetics, Department of Information Studies, Department of Anthropology, UCLA
  • Andrew Lippman, Senior Research Scientist and Associate Director of MIT's Media Lab
  • Nathan Matias, Graduate Student, Center for Civic Media, MIT Media Lab
  • Travis Rich, Graduate Student, Viral Communications, MIT Media Lab
  • Mia Ridge, Digital Curator, British Library
  • Zeynep Tufekci, Assistant Professor, School of Information and Library Science UNC and Contributing Opinion Editor for The New York Times
  • Jon Voss, Strategic Partnerships Director, Historypin
  • Siegfried Zielinski, Michel Foucault Chair, European Graduate School (EGS) and Media Theory, Institute for Time Based Media, Berlin University of Arts
  • Ethan Zuckerman, Director of the Center for Civic Media, MIT Media Lab


  • David Alexander, Director, Rice Space Institute and Professor of Physics and Astronomy
  • Dominic Boyer, Director, Center for Energy and Environmental Research in the Human Sciences and Professor of Anthropology
  • Anne Chao, Adjunct Lecturer in the Humanities
  • Jeffrey Fleisher, Associate Professor of Anthropology
  • María Gaztambide, Associate Director, International Center for the Arts of the Americas, The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
  • Cymene Howe, Associate Professor of Anthropology
  • Klara Jelinkova, Vice President for IT and Chief Information Officer
  • Jeffrey J. Kripal, J. Newton Rayzor Professor of Religion
  • Marcel LaFlamme, Graduate Student in Anthropology and managing editor of Cultural Anthropology
  • Caroline Levander, Vice President, Strategic Initiatives and Digital Education and Carlson Professor of English
  • Sara Lowman, Vice Provost and University Librarian
  • Caleb McDaniel, Associate Professor of History
  • Alida Metcalf, Chair, Department of History and Harris Masterson Jr. Professor of History
  • Carlos Monroy, Research Scientist, Department of Computer Science
  • Kirsten Ostherr, Professor of English
  • Diana Strassmann, Carolyn and Fred McManis Distinguished Professor in the Practice
  • Katherine Hart Weimer, Head, Kelley Center for Government Information, Data and Geospatial Services, Fondren Library
  • Alison Weaver, Executive Director, Moody Center for the Arts
  • Sarah Whiting, Dean, School of Architecture and William Ward Watkin Professor of Architecture

Postdoctoral Fellow:

  • Rex Troumbley, PhD in Political Science, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Graduate Student Fellows:

  • Seth Morton, Department of English
  • Sean Smith, Department of History

Undergraduate Student Fellows:

  • James Carter
  • Emily Higgs
  • Judy Liu
  • Jake Levens


  • Farès el-Dahdah, Director, Humanities Research Center and Professor of the Humanities
  • Melissa Bailar, Associate Director, Humanities Research Center
  • Lisa Spiro, Executive Director of Digital Scholarship Services, Fondren Library